disaffiliation information

The United Methodist denomination is divided and dividing. Many churches in the South Georgia Annual Conference, of which we are a member, have already disaffiliated from the United Methodist denomination. Our church is approaching a time in which we will also be faced with a decision to either disaffiliate or remain within the United Methodist denomination. This is why our church has formed a steering committee of approximately 23 people in an effort to gather all of the information we need to help the church membership make an informed decision.

The names of our disaffiliation committee members are below.

Sam Hunter (chair), Rev. Daryl Brown, Ricky Arnold, Greg Austin, Jim Bolin, Penny Bolin, Linda Eason, Smitty Eason, Ann Harris, Bill Harris, Sarah Inzetta, Sam Morris, Johnny Updike, Wes Wheeler, Justin Arnold, Sammy Bledsoe, Dr. Frank Lowrey, Charles Pryor, John Shealy, Bob Sternenberg, Drenda Sternenberg, Carl Tott, and Ross Youngdale.

In the coming weeks, we will host information sessions and town hall meetings. All members of Americus First United Methodist Church are invited to attend.

  • Monday, September 26, 2022 at 5:30pm: Our Church Council will host district superintendent, Rev. Steve Patton. Rev. Patton will speak to church council and all attending church members regarding the disaffiliation process.
  • Sunday, October 2, 2022 at 4:00pm will be our first official town hall meeting. All attending church members will be welcome to ask questions.

To access the minutes from our most recent steering committee meeting, please click on the document image below. If you have any questions regarding our committee, then please contact one of our committee members or call the church office at 229-924-3169. For additional video resources, please scroll to the bottom of this page to view Rev. Rob Renfroe's six-part video series on "Methodism's Division."

  • August 18, 2022

    Type content here...

video resources

"Methodism's Division: Six-Part Video Series" Rev. Rob Renfroe